48465-the-key-to-success

Nowadays, it seems that anywhere I go am often told that I can create a better life for myself if I put in the time and effort to acquire it. Messages such as “Create the life you want,” “Live the life of your dreams”, “If you don’t like your life, change it,” and my personal favorite (a quote by the late, great Walt Disney) “If you can dream it, you can do it,” are blasted all over the t.v., radio, books, internet, and social media. The old adage that if you work for something hard enough, you can acquire it, is delivered via inspirational blogs and thought-provoking quotes that suck me in every time. Perhaps, it’s because I’m a prime target.

I once had the life I wanted, because I did work hard to create and achieve it, so I can’t argue that these sayings aren’t correct and spot on. However, that better life that I had created for myself, that I dreamed about and worked years to achieve, was taken away from me September 1, 2007, when a man collided with me in a high-speed, head-on automobile accident. Fortunately, my life was spared, but I was left with severe nerve damage in all four of my extremities. No longer able to work in my former profession as a cosmetologist, I became depressed . . . and financially broken. But, these particular mantras encouraged me to create a new life for myself. I could succeed again! My life could get better! All I would have to do is dream it, put in the effort, and it would become a reality!

Seven years have gone by since that accident, and I’ve dreamed many dreams, and made many efforts to make them realities. The biggest lesson that I learned through all of this is that sometime we can’t create the life we want, no matter how hard we try, when certain circumstances beyond our control will prevent us from doing so. This important lesson took me a long time to learn, and I’m glad that I finally did learn it, so I don’t keep feeling like I’m a failure for not being able to get to where I want to be.

I think Albert Einstein said it best when he stated, “Try not to become a man of success, but rather try to become a man of value.” I think this will be my new focus because this is something that I can do!

Is it possible for me to create the life I want?

Maybe. 😉

— Kelly O’Callan

