Tags

, ,

irony16

 

I-ro-ny /noun/ – a state of affairs or an event that seems deliberately contrary to what one expects and is often amusing as a result.

– Last night, I received a nasty, one-star review on one of my novels, and sales are now skyrocketing this morning.

– When I go on a diet to lose weight, I always end up gaining more weight than when I started.

– I was diagnosed with skin cancer the same month that I was planning to move to Florida, “the sunshine state”.

– During the two week gap that my son had no medical coverage while switching insurance companies, he falls and breaks his arm . . . on the monkey bars . . . that he has been playing on for years.

– The day after I sign up to receive HBO, so I can watch the newest episodes of my favorite show, Boardwalk Empire, I learn that the series is ending.

Irony is such a fascinating phenomena, that it helped Alanis Morrisette score a chart-topping hit with her funny, yet frustrating lyrics in “Isn’t It Ironic?”. How rare that we endeavor something in life can make us laugh and want to pull our hair out at the same time. I just love and hate irony!

I’ve shared some examples of irony from my life. Have you got any that you’d like to share?

