Tags

, , ,

When I went to write my first novel and a character named “Ginny” magically appeared in my mind – as all my characters do – I sensed something very peculiar about her. Her emotions were fierce and intense, and she seemed to only be able to calm herself and keep those wild emotions under control by ice-skating or cutting herself with a razor blade. In an effort to understand Ginny better, I knew I needed to investigate the wide realm of mental illness to find a label in which she might fit.

Luckily, I came across a newspaper article one Sunday morning about a mental disorder known as Borderline Personality Disorder. It was an exact match for Ginny. So, what exactly is borderline personality disorder or bpd? 

“Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) is a severe mood disorder characterised by emotional instability, black and white thinking, issues with self-image, reckless and impulsive behaviour.” – source, Amanda Watson, clinical therapist.

Stuffed into a nutshell, it is a complete mental nightmare from which its victim suffers. Writing Ginny’s story in my soon-to-be-released novel, Other People, was quite the arduous task and most difficult writing for me to date. I did extensive research on the disorder to get into her head, and it terrified me. I was an intense, dramatic mess for the nine months it took me to write it. I was both exhausted and relieved when I had finished, but I know it will be worth it, as I feel it may help readers get better insight into the mindset of a person who suffers from this, and how difficult life can be for them. 

A preview of Other People is available on Createspace with the following link:https://www.createspace.com/Preview/…

It will be available in print and as an e-book for kindle on April 18, 2014.

 

— Kelly O’CallanImage

