Tags

When the publication date arrives for one of my novels, I get a sickening urge to hide under my bed. I should be happy and proud of my accomplishment in achieving the goal I set for myself and in being able to share my stories with the rest of the world. Instead, I am left feeling naked and vulnerable, not sure how the endless days, weeks, months, or even years of my precious work will be accepted into the outside world.
I suppose it’s much like the day a mother sends her child to school for the first time. Her child is an entity she spent years molding and creating. When released to the world, she leaves the child open to various forms of criticism – positive, negative, and every combination in between. The mother can only hope and want to expect the former, but it is not for her decide. The power is now in the hands of the public.
So, in knowing I did the best to raise my child – err, book – to the best of its ability, I will go forth and release it to the world. It may make me hide under the bed for a day, but, knowing there is a lid for every pot, means there is also a reader for every writer.

— Kelly O’Callan

